Homegrown Hops do they differ in taste?

If you have a hop related question about International Bittering Units or alpha acid, post it here!
phatboytall
Lost in an Alcoholic Haze

Homegrown Hops do they differ in taste?

Post by phatboytall » Tue Sep 09, 2014 3:51 pm

Simple question, how have people found their homegrown hops taste?

Similar to the shop bought ones of the same variety? Or are they radically different depending on sunlight, water, terroir?
I am not a Beer expert.....thats exactly the point.

Check out my blog where i review bottled beers
http://www.thebeerbunker.co.uk/ or find me on twitter @thebeerbunker

Subsonic

Re: Homegrown Hops do they differ in taste?

Post by Subsonic » Wed Sep 10, 2014 5:00 pm

I find mine very similar but better, then again I am biassed! There is hardly any time lag from picking to drying and freezing, so I find them extremely fragrant. I'm more than happy and haven't bought any hops for 3 years now. Sub

boingy

Post by boingy » Wed Sep 10, 2014 5:39 pm

They are a product of their environment so growing the same hop in a different region/country/climate gives different results. How different? No idea! Mine smell and taste great but I'm not good enough to usefully compare them with the bought equivalents.

Wezzel

Post by Wezzel » Wed Sep 10, 2014 10:45 pm

Do you use them purely as aroma hops as you don't know the alpha acid percentage?

Fil
Telling imaginary friend stories

Post by Fil » Thu Sep 11, 2014 1:12 am

Wezzel wrote:Do you use them purely as aroma hops as you don't know the alpha acid percentage?
Good question... as a first year grower waiting to pick a meager harvest its not a crucial question this year, but how do we go about estimating/deriving an alpha % for our home grown hops.....
ist update for months n months..
Fermnting: not a lot..
Conditioning: nowt
Maturing: Challenger smash, and a kit lager
Drinking: dry one minikeg left in the store