Hops smelling real bad

If you have a hop related question about International Bittering Units or alpha acid, post it here!
Fastline
Hollow Legs

Hops smelling real bad

Post by Fastline » Fri Mar 13, 2015 11:37 pm

I bought a selection of hops from eBay, there in various vacuum sealed bags, but something smells real bad, best way to describe the smell is that it is like dog poo.
Anyone ever heard of this I'm inclined to throw the lot out, it is taunting glasses stored in same cupboard
I'm new to brewing but I just can't imagine that this is right

Wonkydonkey
Drunk as a Skunk

Re: Hops smelling real bad

Post by Wonkydonkey » Sat Mar 14, 2015 9:04 am

There are many questions to ask, but to get the right answer,
You need to say what type they are pellets/hops/leaf, how they are packed ie clear or Mylar bags where they been stored, ie, in the oven/ freezer. And even who you got them off, you never know someone else just may have brought some and used them. With good or not so good results.

But saying this, some do pong more than others. Try rubbing some of them between your digits see how they smell then.

But remember there are some of us that grabbed 5kg of 2012 hops at great prices, vac'd them down to suitable sizes and are making good beer.

But please tell what they are, cos, citra hops , brew with them and you can get a woohoo or what the fecking piss is this. Depending on the person drinking and the amount used.
To Busy To Add,

Rookie
Falling off the Barstool

Post by Rookie » Sat Mar 14, 2015 4:44 pm

Fastline wrote:I bought a selection of hops from eBay, there in various vacuum sealed bags, but something smells real bad, best way to describe the smell is that it is like dog poo.
Anyone ever heard of this I'm inclined to throw the lot out, it is taunting glasses stored in same cupboard
I'm new to brewing but I just can't imagine that this is right
I've never heard bad hop smell described as dog poo, the usual descriptor is cheesy.