Hop Growing 2016

If you have a hop related question about International Bittering Units or alpha acid, post it here!
windrider
Piss Artist

Hop Growing 2016

Post by windrider » Fri Mar 18, 2016 5:39 pm

Haven’t seen a thread posted for this yet, so thought I’d start off the annual growing topic.

Followed last year’s one with interest. Thought I’d give it a go this year. Ordered a Dwarf Prima Donna bare root from Essentially Hops and planted it yesterday.

I’m a novice gardener and followed the planting leaflet. Should I cover the crown with a couple of inches of soil and compost. Or will it be okay like it is?

Peatbogbrewer
Piss Artist

Re: Hop Growing 2016

Post by Peatbogbrewer » Fri Mar 18, 2016 6:06 pm

i planted prima donna last year so this year to should have grown more rhizome and should produce more hops. I mixed well rotted manure with a good compost and soil and planted so the crown of the rhizome was a couple of inches below the surface. It came up fine. Don't expect much bine or hop growth in the 1st season, it needs to spread out the rhizome this year. Mine's in a big pot.

tourer
Hollow Legs
Location: spitting distance of the Beacon hotel, home of Ruby red

Post by tourer » Fri Mar 18, 2016 8:22 pm

I would like to know how to defeat the bloody greenfly without using chemicals. Had loads of ladybirds and their offspring so hopefully they are still hanging around.

GrowlingDogBeer
Even further under the Table

Post by GrowlingDogBeer » Fri Mar 18, 2016 9:43 pm

Spray the plants with soapy water to get rid of greenfly.

scuppeteer
Under the Table
Location: Brenchley, Kent (Birthplace of Fuggles... or is it?)

Post by scuppeteer » Sat Mar 19, 2016 9:12 pm

windrider wrote:will it be okay like it is?
That's perfect, good job. Good root stock on that so you'll probably get a few hops to brew with this year, so long as you look after it. ;)
Dave Berry

Can't be arsed to keep changing this bit, so, drinking some beer and wanting to brew many more!