Organically certified ingredients

Get advice on making beer from raw ingredients (malt, hops, water and yeast)
brewbrew
Steady Drinker

Organically certified ingredients

Post by brewbrew » Thu Mar 23, 2017 9:58 pm

There is currently a lot of interest and growing sales in commercially available organically certified craft beers - but amateur brewers and micro breweries have little if any choice. Organic malt is available (I can only find one on-line retailer and the minimum order is 25kg) but I can't find any hops. As an amateur, I find this frustrating - I have to buy my organic beer ready brewed and I have limited choices such as shown here; www.vintageroots.co.uk/organic-beers

If I was to create a collection of organic ingredients for amateur brewers and micro breweries and sell them on line, would you be interested? or would I be wasting my time?

Organically certified ingredients offer unique qualities of purity and authenticity - to understand more, see this link. www.soilassociation.org/organic-living/what-is-organic/

If you have any interest, feel free to PM me or post your comments on the forum.

Thanks for any feedback

BB

MonsieurBadgerCheese
Steady Drinker

Re: Organically certified ingredients

Post by MonsieurBadgerCheese » Thu Mar 23, 2017 10:04 pm

Hi,

I think that is a good idea. Having said that, I wonder what percentage of home brewers are in pursuit of a bespoke product, and how many 'brew their own' to keep the cost down. I'm assuming that organic ingredients would be significantly more expensive. I believe that you would have an enthusiastic, but perhaps limited market.

MBC :)

Dmondaye
Sober

Post by Dmondaye » Fri Mar 24, 2017 9:41 am

I'd be very interested in that!

I too have been frustrated with the lack of options available!

scuppeteer
Under the Table
Location: Brenchley, Kent (Birthplace of Fuggles... or is it?)

Post by scuppeteer » Fri Mar 24, 2017 8:50 pm