Help with efficiency - what am I doing wrong??

Get advice on making beer from raw ingredients (malt, hops, water and yeast)
StrontiumDog
Piss Artist

Help with efficiency - what am I doing wrong??

Post by StrontiumDog » Sun Mar 26, 2017 9:31 am

Good morning everyone. I’ve been using this forum for some time to get advice but this is my first time posting so please, be gentle ;-)

I have transferred to all grain but I’m only doing small, 1 gallon (imperial), batches at the moment due to the fact I’m still building the brewery in the garage, I’m still getting together a recipe I’ll be happy drinking 5 gallons of and my stove won’t let me brew any higher volume batches.

So, I have a recipe I’m working to, it’s supposed to give me an OG of 1.041 but I’m consistently getting around 1.030. Using the Brewhouse Efficiency Calculator on Brewers Friend it looks like at 75% efficiency I’ll hit my OG but apparently I’m at 54.10%.

I was hoping you guys could help me out with where I’m going wrong

Recipe;
700g Maris Otter Pale Malt
54g Crystal Malt
41g Flaked Maize

5g Challenger (60 mins)
5g Bramling Cross (30 mins)
3g Fuggles (Flame Out)
3g East Kent Goldings (Flame Out)

Set up;
9ltr HLT
5ltr Mash Pot
20ltr BK
Colander

Process;
Heat up 1,987.5 ml strike water to 75ºC and Mash in to 66 ºC

Mash for 1 hour in oven, checking every 10 minutes with probe. Max temp 68 ºC, min temp 65 ºC but I’m happy my mash temp stayed close enough to 66 ºC.

Heat up 7,807.5 ml sparge water to 75 ºC. The mash was then transferred to a colander and sparge water poured over it through another colander to cover the whole grain bed and allowed to drain through. This continued until 9ltrs of wort was collected.

Wort boiled and hops added. After an hour the wort was cooled using an IC and transferred to glass demijohn.

Volumes;
9ltr pre boil;
2.5 ltrs lost to boil off
Around 2 ltrs left in BK with break material and hops
4.5ltrs in FV