Rationalising / selling my brew kit

Get advice on making beer from raw ingredients (malt, hops, water and yeast)
dean_wales
Drunk as a Skunk

Rationalising / selling my brew kit

Post by dean_wales » Tue Nov 28, 2017 3:32 pm

So, the time has come to clear out my brew shed and free up some cash locked up in kit and projects!

My usual kit is a three vessel 50/50/100 keg based DIY system which suits me well at the moment, me and my brew buddy get a 25L fermenter each brewday and lots of recipe flexibility. Works well but takes up loads of room and is very time consuming. Last year I purchased about half the parts for a 50 L clone of a Braumeister before I started brewing with someone else as it didnt suit me, but never finished the project.

What I cannot decide is whether to:
a) Just finish the braumeister clone and keep both rigs, in case I move to a smaller house or revert to brewing solo or just for choice.
b) Finish the Braumeister clone, but immeadiately test and sell it.
c) Sell off the Brauimeister parts and stick with my keg brewery as it works well. Maybe buy a few gadets (another pump, hoses, controller etc) with the proceeds.
d) Sell the malt tube but use the parts for something else entirely.

Might be of no interest but it is a real pickle for me!

Thanks,
Dean.
Click here for my cider pressing...
Click here to see my 20% Damson port experiment...
Click here for red wine from my allotment vine...

MashTim
Piss Artist

Re: Rationalising / selling my brew kit

Post by MashTim » Tue Nov 28, 2017 3:46 pm

What’s the priority cash or space?

dean_wales
Drunk as a Skunk

Post by dean_wales » Tue Nov 28, 2017 3:55 pm

Well, cash is always king but if the parts are much less valuable than the completed project or vice versa then it skews the decision somewhat.

For reference its the following bits I have to hand:
Tools for the job
80 litre thermopot
Original 50L malt tube
Original 25L malt tube
Original filter plates
Threaded and plain stainless bar