Anybody used Styrian Wolf hops??

Get advice on making beer from raw ingredients (malt, hops, water and yeast)
gaunt_paul
Steady Drinker

Anybody used Styrian Wolf hops??

Post by gaunt_paul » Fri Dec 29, 2017 11:49 am

Hi all. I'm planning a pale ale of some kind and I have a pack of styrian wolf which i'm thinking of using for late additions and a dry hop. I've never used these before but the profile sounds right. Do any of you have any experience with these?

FermentedCulture

Re: Anybody used Styrian Wolf hops??

Post by FermentedCulture » Fri Dec 29, 2017 12:26 pm

I'll just copy this from a review I did on HBUK:
I tried some of the slovenian hops in 1 gallon test batches but the brews weren't great, I let too much trub in and left them for too long. They produced a slight star anise flavour from the yeast with some and hazelnut with the others.

My earlier notes were smooth, pungent, orange pith, red berries, floral, jam, cream, sweet. Now this brew is also quite old but with that said I can taste: slight mango, slight pith (probably due to hopping rate), citrus (not like cardamom), orange (not like coriander), slight anise, slight violet, slight drying menthol, maybe a background of berries (not raspberry), background of thyme, toffee. I don't really pick up bananas, melon, ginger, pineapple, passionfruit like in their product description. In summary - fruity citrus upfront, mango, berries and flowers behind, finishing with slightly herby notes, menthol + thyme.

Looking forward to comparing notes!

edit, due to the headspace this brew was probably a bit oxidised also, hence the toffee flavour. I think there is a subtle backbone of thyme in this hop and a slight edge of grapefruit also.
Here's a description from a supplier/grower: http://www.alpinehops.com/ahops/Wolf.aspx

gaunt_paul
Steady Drinker

Post by gaunt_paul » Fri Dec 29, 2017 12:45 pm