what are the best brewing timelines?

Discussion on brewing beer from malt extract, hops, and yeast.
wizz69

what are the best brewing timelines?

Post by wizz69 » Thu Dec 31, 2015 2:52 pm

hey,

i am new to the whole brewing thing, and have managed to brew & bottle 2 accomplished beers (English Ales) based on a bombardier recipe.

they are only small batches around 8 Ltrs, yielding approx 12/13 500 ml bottles.

i am unsure on how long to really leave them fermenting before bottling and drinking. i read through some forums that following 1/2/3 will not go wrong.

1 week - primary fermentation (plastic sealed bucket)
2 weeks - secondary fermentation (glass carbouy)
Rack to bucket with priming sugar
Rack to bottle
3 weeks - before bottle can be opened and drank.

does this sound right? any other ways this could be done. the brew is OK, and i think i do not use enough priming sugar, as the end result is flattish, but drinkable.

sonicated
Hollow Legs

Re: what are the best brewing timelines?

Post by sonicated » Thu Dec 31, 2015 3:06 pm

Once bottled I personally wait at least a week for each ABV%. I also never rack into a secondary - I just see it as a lot of hassle with no real benefit.

Rookie
Falling off the Barstool

Post by Rookie » Thu Dec 31, 2015 11:30 pm

sonicated wrote: I also never rack into a secondary - I just see it as a lot of hassle with no real benefit.
Absolutely, you can leave it in the primary for quite a while before you'd have a problem.
My ale SOP is three weeks in primary, then bottle.
I'm just here for the beer.

Oakey22

Post by Oakey22 » Thu Dec 31, 2015 11:58 pm

Around 2 weeks is right for me although after it has dropped to FG I let it cool down to drop the yeast out

bobsbeer

Post by bobsbeer » Fri Jan 01, 2016 12:16 am