Guidance - Super Quick and Easy extract recipe

Discussion on brewing beer from malt extract, hops, and yeast.
CharlieMops

Guidance - Super Quick and Easy extract recipe

Post by CharlieMops » Mon Oct 17, 2016 11:33 pm

Hi everyone!

First post ever here although I've read many helpful posts and browsed loadss before signing up! Im quite new to brewing (have only done a few kits and one extract brew with hops etc) I want to do one final extract brew before I go all grain!

I won't have too much time or space this time so I was wondering if someone could help me out and provide me with a quick and easy recipe for a dark/amber ale using only dried malt extract, crystal malt for steeping and hops for boiling. I want to do about 4 or 5 gallons. Also, I was wondering if there is a way to do this brew by using half the water while boiling and then quickly topping up with cold water so the wort can be cooled quicker... I really want it to be pretty much effort free this time :)

If someone could list ingredients, boil times and measurements etc that would be absolutley brilliant! :) I'll be sure to post pictures of the finished product along with a review too...

Thank you so much in advance!

CharlieMops!

CharlieMops

Re: Guidance - Super Quick and Easy extract recipe

Post by CharlieMops » Mon Oct 17, 2016 11:54 pm

Hi all,

Slight modification. I want to actually do about 10litres in total. The whole gallons and litres thing is driving me nuts!

Would it be possible to boil everything using about 4 to 5litres of water then put everything in the fermenting bucket and top up with an extra 5litres of cold water? I really want to know if this is possible.

Thank you so much everyone!

CharlieMops

IPA
Under the Table

Post by IPA » Tue Oct 18, 2016 7:55 am