Buying ingredients for extract brewing...

Discussion on brewing beer from malt extract, hops, and yeast.
Avocado232

Buying ingredients for extract brewing...

Post by Avocado232 » Wed Apr 26, 2017 2:03 pm

Hi guys. I am new to brewing, as well as the forum. I have almost completed my first batch of bitter using a starter kit from Love Brewing. This was great fun, but I am certainly ready to take on a more hands on approach using the extract brewing method. I am just wondering how to go about buying the ingredients needed for my next batch of IPA:

Should I buy some ingredients in bulk?
Do some ingredients last longer than others once opened?
Would I be best buying an ingredients kit? (http://www.lovebrewing.co.uk/india-pale ... art-grain/)

I do plan on keeping up this hobby and any guidance on this would be much appreciated!

Cheers!

k1100t
Piss Artist

Re: Buying ingredients for extract brewing...

Post by k1100t » Wed Apr 26, 2017 3:50 pm

Hello!

I used to buy my extract greedy ants on an as needed basis from The Malt Miller. Cans of extract would get used in full, open bags of hops were sealed, as well as I could, and stored in the freezer. If you were going to brew regularly, then you could consider one of those larger 25 litre tubs of extract, but they do have a shelf life.

I brewed a few of the extract recipes from (an earlier version called An Enthusiast's Guide to Homebrew Beers) of Extreme Brewing by Sam Calagione. That gave me loads of ideas before I moved onto all grain brewing.

Cheers,
Last edited by k1100t on Thu Apr 27, 2017 9:55 am, edited 1 time in total.
I like beer --- Currently rebuilding the brewery, this time with stainless...

Avocado232

Post by Avocado232 » Wed Apr 26, 2017 7:07 pm

Thank you for the reply! Much appreciated. Any tips on buying specialty grains? - Bulk or per brew?

k1100t
Piss Artist

Post by k1100t » Thu Apr 27, 2017 9:59 am