Transporting pressure barrels

A forum to discuss the various ways of getting beer into your glass.
thickodicko
Tippler

Transporting pressure barrels

Post by thickodicko » Tue Mar 11, 2014 10:53 pm

Evening all!

I have been trawling this forum for days trying to find an answer to my question and have decided to cave in and ask. If there is a post somewhere please just put me straight :) and if I have posted in the wrong place really sorry. Fingers crossed mods can move it.

I have been brewing on and off now for a few months and am totally loving it. I have quickly moved from bottles (PITA!!) to pressure barrel and then to corny keg set up. Ive only got one corny at the moment (which is in use and staying put) and as i have been reading, they have a tendancy to breed!

I have a birthday party at the end of this month to which I would love to bring a good homebrew. I reckon I have enough time to move my Woodfordes Wherry from its FV to the pressure barrel (this is still TBC depending on what you guys say) with priming sugar ready for relatively clear drinking by the 28th. Brew has been fermenting for a week now, not check ABV yet but its probably nearing that time. The PB has S30 valve and I have gas to top it up and keep it nice.

My question:

Once secondary has completed in the PB how can I transport the beer to final location without stirring up all the sediment in the bottom?

My thought was to let secondary do its thang and carbonate in PB and then add gelatine finings to drop the yeast in a nice set at the bottom and then transport it. I've not used the gelatine before and tbh not used the PB that much apart from a clearing barrel before moving to bottles.

Is my idea going to work or does anyone else have any suggestions to how I can move the PB safely? Or am I just thinking into it too much and it will be fine to transport?

Thanks in advance and I am sure I will have some more questions as time goes on.

mozza
Under the Table