Cornie Pressure loss

A forum to discuss the various ways of getting beer into your glass.
Top Cat
Piss Artist

Cornie Pressure loss

Post by Top Cat » Wed Nov 29, 2017 10:51 am

Cornie newbie here.
Having just purchased a kit, I thought I should better pressure up and check that the keg would not leak, to avoid any problems when I put beer in it in about a weeks time.
I noticed the stainless outlet tube in the keg was bent going straight to the centre bottom of the keg. I subsequently took it out and straightened it, I also had to take 30mm off the end to give me a little (8mm) clearance from the keg bottom. I have put this down to someone else not fitting a new tube correctly!
I pressured the keg up to about 22psi to seal, relieved to about 18psi then turned the gas bottle off. I noticed after about 18 hours the pressure had dropped to 8psi. I don't know whether a drop in temperature of about 8 deg c overnight would have any influence.
Is this pressure drop normal guys? Or should I be talking to the supplier. Incidentally I did put some soap suds around the outlet disconnect after I reconnected, there didn't appear to be any bubbles!
Thank in anticipation.

vacant
Even further under the Table

Re: Cornie Pressure loss

Post by vacant » Wed Nov 29, 2017 11:12 am

The dip tubes I have are bent and reach to the middle of the keg with a gap of a few mm. I believe some people hack a cm or so off to prevent yeast getting sucked up. I'm happy with mine as it doesn't seem to draw any settled yeast up until the very last moment.

Turning off the gas isn't enough, you have to disconnect it from the keg to rule out leaks in the JG fittings and beer line.

I assume you've also tested with suds around the PRV, inlet post and lid?
I brew therefore I ... I .... forget

Kev888
So far gone I'm on the way back again!

Post by Kev888 » Wed Nov 29, 2017 12:48 pm