Carbonisation Calculations - Temperature

A forum to discuss the various ways of getting beer into your glass.
MonsieurBadgerCheese
Steady Drinker

Carbonisation Calculations - Temperature

Post by MonsieurBadgerCheese » Sun Apr 22, 2018 5:26 pm

Good Evening,

Sorry if this is a daft question. Relative Newbie here. Anyway, I have been experimenting with various 'Priming Sugar Calculators' I understand that temperature is a factor, but am a bit confused as to which temperature to apply.

For example The Malt Miller Calculator asks for 'fermentation temperature' wheareas Beersmith is asking for 'Bottling or Keg Storage Temperature. The Northern Brewer Calculator asks for 'Current Temperature of Beer'.

I'd appreciate any advice. For example, where do you stand if you have 'cold crashed' in the FV prior to priming in a bottling bucket/mini-keg?

Thanks in advance,

MBC :)

Fil
Telling imaginary friend stories

Re: Carbonisation Calculations - Temperature

Post by Fil » Sun Apr 22, 2018 7:11 pm

I would suggest the highest temperature the beer has sat in at the end of primary/ post primary should be used if its used to estimate the current level of dissolved co2 in the beer.

the reason is that as the yeast are the source of the co2 thats easily dissolved into the brew, so when they slow down and stop pumping it out the supply of possible further carbonation is thru contact at atmospheric pressure on the surface alone which will have a far less significant effect than co2 injected at the microscopic level under the surface by yeast. and while you can get suck back thru an airlock when crash chilling i would suggest that has more to do with the volume of co2 inside the vessel contracting with a lower temp than being instantly disolved in the beer without some positive pressure to aid the process..