Flat Beer

Discuss making up beer kits - the simplest way to brew.
Fuzzybloke

Flat Beer

Post by Fuzzybloke » Sat Oct 14, 2017 12:58 pm

Good afternoon, my first posting on this forum.

I’m new to homebrew and I’ve brewed a Wilco own brand amber ale, which was dispensed in to bottle. All instructions were followed along with recommendations, such as substituting beer kit enhancer and brewing sugar to prime the bottles I also used finings to help clear the beer.

My problem is that the beer is flat, it does produce a head but this quickly disappears. Any ideas on where I went wrong. I’m going to start a second batch soon and I would like to get it right this time.

Thank you for reading this post.

IPA
Under the Table

Re: Flat Beer

Post by IPA » Sat Oct 14, 2017 2:58 pm

Anne Boleyn had a head retention problem as did other wives of Henry V111
But to be serious is the beer lacking in. CO2 or is it a problem of no head.
I think you need to provide a bit more info. What was the final gravity before bottling, how much priming did you add and how long and at what temperature did you leave it to condition are a couple of questions.
"You're not drunk if you can lie on the floor without holding on." Dean Martin

1. Life is not a journey to the grave with the intention of arriving safely in a pretty and well-preserved body, but rather to skid in sideways, thoroughly used, totally worn out and loudly proclaiming... "f*ck, what a trip

It's better to lose time with friends than to lose friends with time (Portuguese proverb)

Alone we travel faster
Together we travel further
( In an admonishing email from our golf club)

chefgage
Hollow Legs

Post by chefgage » Sat Oct 14, 2017 4:16 pm

How long have you left the beer to carbonate? Depending on the temperature so time can vary by quite a bit. So also what is the temperature where the beer is stored?

Fuzzybloke

Post by Fuzzybloke » Sat Oct 14, 2017 5:37 pm