First BM brew

A forum to discuss one pot automated brewing systems.
Onthebrew

First BM brew

Post by Onthebrew » Mon Sep 12, 2016 2:09 pm

ok further to the previous thread i went for the 20l BM and its winging its way to me as we speak. as noted before i am completely new to brewing. ive already read the instructions online and various videos and in the main it looks fairly straigth forward.

However a couple of questions, in order to get best tasting beer possible, if anyone could help it would be most appreciated.

1) for an IPA what water is best- can anyone recomend any of the supermarket options? ( starting with crafty brew recipe kits- mosaic ipa and light out black ipa)
2) if i end up with a mash PH to high - whats best to bring it down
3) as above but visa versa for a low PH.
4) are there any UK home brew magazines out there- ican only find USA, and Australian ones.

cheers guys.

f00b4r
Site Admin

First BM brew

Post by f00b4r » Mon Sep 12, 2016 6:49 pm

Not actually answering your questions but something that might stop you doing the silly thing I and others did on my first brew...
Make sure you click on the next button to stop the pump before uncovering the malt pipe after mashing out or you will get grain everywhere
Oh and hose the malt pipe and filter plates ASAP whilst it is coming to the boil and the BM straight out after chilling, doing these will make it a dream to clean.
Enjoy!

mbarn
Piss Artist

Re: First BM brew

Post by mbarn » Mon Sep 12, 2016 7:05 pm

Congrats on your purchase. I'm coming up to 1 year with my 20l.

You can brew fine with tap water. I've brewed 8 times without checking PH or using anything but a campden tablet with my hard tap water. All brews have been great.
Just ordered a PH meter to improve further.
Using Tapatalk

McMullan

Post by McMullan » Mon Sep 12, 2016 7:07 pm

Start filling the BM with water by placing a hose in the pump inlet to 'deairate' the pump.

CaptainsCabin