BM mash time

A forum to discuss one pot automated brewing systems.
IPA
Under the Table

BM mash time

Post by IPA » Tue May 16, 2023 12:43 pm

I've been brewing with a BM for more than ten years. I keep a log of every brew. For normal beer I mash at 66°C for ninety minutes. I check the gravity at the end of the mash,after the sparge and after the boil and adjust the volume.Yesterday I decided to check the gravity forty minutes into the mash and it was 1056. I tested it at the end of the ninety minute mash and to my surprise it was 1056 ! Next time I am going to mash for only forty minutes and compare the finished beer against one that had the full ninety minute mash
"You're not drunk if you can lie on the floor without holding on." Dean Martin

1. Life is not a journey to the grave with the intention of arriving safely in a pretty and well-preserved body, but rather to skid in sideways, thoroughly used, totally worn out and loudly proclaiming... "f*ck, what a trip

It's better to lose time with friends than to lose friends with time (Portuguese proverb)

Alone we travel faster
Together we travel further
( In an admonishing email from our golf club)

MashBag
Even further under the Table

Re: BM mash time

Post by MashBag » Tue May 16, 2023 2:18 pm

I have done similar comparisons and settled on a 60 min mash. Not sure it's the machine specific, probably more the modern, well modified grains I use.

Watching with interest what you discover.

Cobnut
Drunk as a Skunk

Post by Cobnut » Tue May 16, 2023 3:27 pm

Modern highly modified malts need less conversion time than their forebears which the late G Wheeler was probably more accustomed to when he wrote his seminal books which many of us revere, but I think we need to beware of some malts which don't work with such alacrity.

Do let us know how you get on.

Are you tempted to try an even shorter mash time? There are folk out there who limit their mash to 30 mins, perhaps even less.