Perry - anyone done this from pears?

A forum for cider makers
lord groan
Lost in an Alcoholic Haze

Perry - anyone done this from pears?

Post by lord groan » Sat Oct 10, 2015 3:35 pm

Hi All,
Admittedly not strictly a cider but hopefully close enough to qualify for the cider section.

After using lots of my elderly mums apples to make two cider batches I noticed her neighbour has a pear tree. I've just asked if they have plans for the pears, they don't, so I have permission to pick as many as I want. They look like conference pears but might not be.
I've read up a bit so as far as I can see I pick them, store for a couple of days to let magic happen, then scrat 'em and press the pulp. After that ferment as for cider.

Does anyone have any perry making experience and are you willing to pass on advice? I'd be most grateful for any guidance as I have never done this before. Is this something you have tried dean_wales?
Thanks

jmc
Even further under the Table

Re: Perry - anyone done this from pears?

Post by jmc » Mon Oct 12, 2015 9:24 am

A friend of my sons gives me some pears every year. I think they are conference pears too.

There is only about a 2-3 gal bucket full each time so I mix them with the same weight of apples to do a 50:50 cider/perry mix.
This means I have enough to use my rack & cloth press efficiently and it does help with the pressing too.
Eating pears can be a little bland so adding some apples (inc a few crabs) ups the acidity and tannin to give a more flavoursome drink (IMHO)

Like eating pears from the shop they ripen in a different way to apples. Being rock hard for a while and then for 1 or 2 days being perfect to eat.
I wait until they've reached this sweet, soft stage before pressing.

I store mine in a dark, dry cool place and check every day or so. When they are ready I scrat and press in a very similar way to apples.