Jennings Bitter

Try some of these great recipes out, or share your favourite brew with other forumees!
gyleable

Jennings Bitter

Post by gyleable » Sun Aug 04, 2013 1:57 pm

I was introduced to this beer by my local B&M store where they're flogging it for £2 for two 500ml bottles. Didn't think I liked 'brown beer' but it's lovely and I'm inspired to try and recreate it. It has a pronounced nutty aroma and flavour. I haven't been able to find a clone recipe anywhere.

It's 3.5% ABV. Has a deep red brown colour. Jennings website says "Brewed with English pale Ale and Amber malt, to give a nutty flavour that supports a subtle blend of English aromatic hops."

My thoughts are:
Malts: 75% Pale, 15% Brown, 7.5% Amber, 2.5% roasted barley
Hops: Fuggles or EK Goldings to give 30 IBU.

I'm a novice AG brewer so any advice would be appreciated.

timbo41
Under the Table
Location: nr two big USAFE bases. youll HAVE TO SHOUT! brandon suffolk

Re: Jennings Bitter

Post by timbo41 » Sun Aug 04, 2013 2:17 pm

Go for it. Perhaps a decent yeast as well!
Just like trying new ideas!

oakwell

Post by oakwell » Sun Aug 04, 2013 8:06 pm

hi, I don't think that recipe will get you anywhere close. as a novice ag brewer you'd be better off trying a proven recipe rather than relying on guesswork. I don't want to dampen your enthusiasm but I think there's less chance of disappointment and a few successful brews will serve to motivate rather than deter you. i'd suggest either looking at some of the recipes on here or maybe getting a copy of Graham Wheeler's book Brew Your Own British Real Ale. good luck.

gyleable

Post by gyleable » Sun Aug 04, 2013 8:34 pm

Hi Oakwell,