Coopers Stout brewing this evening

Want to experiment with additions and tweaks to beer kits? This is the place to post.
Hengoedbrewer

Coopers Stout brewing this evening

Post by Hengoedbrewer » Sat May 10, 2014 10:47 am

Hi all

This evening I'm going to move my Evil Dog double IPA (been in bottles in warm for 2 weeks) to outside storage to cool condition, AND put on brew number 4- Coopers Stout with some extras. I'm thinking of

- 1 x coopers stout
- 1 kg of medium DME
-1 x 454g tin of black treacle
and then either 300g of dark muscovado or 300g of demerera sugar. I'm looking for an ABV of about 5% and will be brewing short to either 20 but probably 18 litres.

As I'm still relatively new to this does anyone have any comments on this recipe?

Much appreciated

Craig

6470zzy
Telling everyone Your My Best Mate

Re: Coopers Stout brewing this evening

Post by 6470zzy » Sat May 10, 2014 11:32 am

Looks as though you might want to give this thread a read
viewtopic.php?f=56&t=31569 :beer:
"Work is the curse of the drinking class"
Oscar Wilde

Hengoedbrewer

Post by Hengoedbrewer » Sat May 10, 2014 11:44 am

6470zzy wrote:Looks as though you might want to give this thread a read
viewtopic.php?f=56&t=31569 :beer:
Hi 0zzy

I have actually read most of that thread, but a long time ago- Ditch's stout is legend... I was just looking for a quick reply really or even a "DON'T USE ALL THOSE SUGARS" or whatever...... and it won't be a "true" Ditch's as I'm going to bottle mine and will be using my own elbow grease and not a power drill to stir!! Thank you though.

6470zzy

Post by 6470zzy » Sat May 10, 2014 12:11 pm

That being said, I would leave out the sugar and add some more spray-malt in its place
Cheers
Oscar Wilde

Hengoedbrewer

Post by Hengoedbrewer » Sat May 10, 2014 12:21 pm

6470zzy wrote:That being said, I would leave out the sugar and add some more spray-malt in its place
Cheers