Adding cocoa nibs to Coopers Stout Kit

Want to experiment with additions and tweaks to beer kits? This is the place to post.
northernbeermonkey

Adding cocoa nibs to Coopers Stout Kit

Post by northernbeermonkey » Mon Oct 27, 2014 2:18 pm

Hello,

I am a relatively novice home brewer and am seeking advice on how to add cocoa nibs to a Coopers stout kit.

I understand from previous posts that it is recommended to add cocoa nibs soaked in vodka (to sanitise them) to secondary fermentation but what I don't know is how much to add, how to add, for e.g. should I put the pre-soaked nibs in a muslin bag so it doesn't clog up my keg? and how long should I leave them in the keg for? How much vodka should I use and do I add the vodka to the keg?

Also, how long should I soak the nibs in vodka for first?

I made my beer last Thursday and it is 23litres.It is the basic Coopers kit with 1kg brewing sugar and I added around 110g of chocolate malt that has been boiled (for 5 minutes) and strained through muslin (I only added the liquid and not the grains to the wort).

It is still fermenting at 24 degrees and the initial reading on Hydrometer was 4%. I should imagine it will be ready to keg/secondary in next few days (giving it a week) so this means I have only a few days to make a cocoa nib/vodka infusion.

The other thing I was thinking of adding was a shot of espresso coffee to the keg as well as the nibs. Or should I simply add oven roasted coffee beans as well as some one roasted cocoa nibs? (presumably the roasting will sanitise them)?

Again, I am unclear on quantities and time in the keg infusing.

Any ideas and suggestions most welcome as completely lost as how to proceed!!

Thank you

Jim
Site Admin

Re: Adding cocoa nibs to Coopers Stout Kit

Post by Jim » Mon Oct 27, 2014 7:06 pm

Hello and welcome to JBK! :)

SInce this is a brewing question rather than an introduction, I'm moving it to the appropriate subforum.
NURSE!! He's out of bed again!

JBK on Facebook