DIY mash tun / hop strainer

The forum for discussing all kinds of brewing paraphernalia.
colin84

DIY mash tun / hop strainer

Post by colin84 » Wed Apr 22, 2009 12:25 pm

Right, I'm new to this brewing malarky but have decided to throw myself in at the deep end by going AG...

As I'm the only ale drinker in the my flat (until I convert my other half) I have decided to stick to 2 gallon brews as I'm not convinced I'd get through 40 pints a week!
I have most of my equipment sitting here, but I'm having trouble with the mash tun and hop strainer.

I did initially plan to create DaaBs false bottom for the mash tun (2 gallon FV covered in blankets etc) and was going to also use this for the hop strainer in my boiler (3 gallon FV with kettle element) however I figured that there are 2 potential problems with this:
- The plate may soften/melt
- The plate may be lifted off the bottom during the boil (due to the currents)

In light of this, what is the easiest kind of hop strainer to make and could it also double up as the manifold in my mash tun? I have seen the copper pipes with holes drilled all over them, but I've read reports of people using mesh which sounds a lot simpler but I can't picture how it would fit. The hops I have are vacuum packed (so presumably whole not pellet).

vacant
Even further under the Table

Re: DIY mash tun / hop strainer

Post by vacant » Wed Apr 22, 2009 5:05 pm

colin84 wrote: I've read reports of people using mesh which sounds a lot simpler but I can't picture how it would fit.
Standard hoselock (or cheapo knock-off) holds the mesh and screws into the back of a "waddington & duval" water butt tap in my H&G 10 gallon plastic boiler.
I brew therefore I ... I .... forget

colin84

Post by colin84 » Fri Apr 24, 2009 12:47 pm

vacant wrote:
colin84 wrote: I've read reports of people using mesh which sounds a lot simpler but I can't picture how it would fit.