My bespoke Japanese garden brewshed with pics!

The forum for discussing all kinds of brewing paraphernalia.
stephenfranks

My bespoke Japanese garden brewshed with pics!

Post by stephenfranks » Sun Jun 21, 2009 11:18 am

I am nearing the completion of my Japanese tea house style brewshed:

I built the shed myself (I am a builder) to quite a high specification (for a shed!!) including:

1) 4" Rockwool insulation in floor
2) 4" Fibreglass in walls
3) Full electrics including fused spurs for each switchable item (elements/pumps etc) which will be switched from a 12 way MK Grid Plus panel on one of the kitchen unit doors
4) I have wired for dual temperature controllers, one for HLT and one for mash tun (middle thermobox). HLT has burco element + kettle element and easy to fill from tap to left of tank. Mash tun will have 150w towel rail element to keep correct temp via temp controller without scorching grains (see screwfix for details) Mash tun will have a spinny sparge arm (Phils taken apart and parts replaced with bespoke chrome plated brackets)
5) Horizontal pumping from mash tun to boiler done by March May mag pump mounted underneath worktop (with valves and drain cocks for cleaning)
6) Boiler has permanent stainless immersion chiller fed from in and out stainless braided hoses. Turn butterfly valve and immersion chiller fills circulates and water exits via drain to left.
7) I bought a red wine fridge on Gumtree (£30) which cools between 13 and 17 degrees via digital controller - ideal for fermentation and then beer storage!
8) Computer with Beersmith and internet for recipes

Any thoughts comments what is good/bad? This is for first time AG brew...

e-brewer

Re: My bespoke Japanese garden brewshed with pics!

Post by e-brewer » Sun Jun 21, 2009 11:36 am

Well done that man ..what a set-up..

e-brewer

fife

WishboneBrewery
CBA Prizewinner 2010

Post by WishboneBrewery » Sun Jun 21, 2009 11:46 am

Sugoi, Sugoi... Quite the Shinto Shrine of Brewing