Beer engine.... so I got this and...

The forum for discussing all kinds of brewing paraphernalia.
rick_huggins

Beer engine.... so I got this and...

Post by rick_huggins » Wed Jul 29, 2009 7:52 pm

I was given these today by a mate and want to know how I put them into action with a cornie if possible?

How are they connected, do I need other parts, should I service it and any other useful info; any help most appreciated as usual.

This is about a meter long..

rick_huggins

Re: Beer engine.... so I got this and...

Post by rick_huggins » Wed Jul 29, 2009 8:33 pm

Must be someone out there?

rick_huggins

Post by rick_huggins » Wed Jul 29, 2009 10:33 pm

Hellooooooo,

Calling all beer engine guru's out there.... what do I need to get this up and running? :mrgreen:

edit1now
Under the Table

Post by edit1now » Wed Jul 29, 2009 10:56 pm

OK, I'm not an expert, and I just bottle mine, but here is what I can remember you need, from reading JBK:

An adaptor to go from the beer engine's inlet to 3/8"" or 3/16" beer line, depending whether you need to restrict the flow to control frothing - the smaller tubing provides greater resistance to the fluid passing. (This may only apply to ordinary keg-style taps).

Some beer line of the right size see above.

A demand valve (a.k.a. check valve) - this stops the pressure from the cornie making the beer engine p@ss beer all the time.

More beer line between the demand valve and the cornie Out post.

A cornie Out post.

A cornie with beer in it.

A cornie In post.

Some gas line (most people use beer line at home).

An adaptor to go from beer line to your regulator.

A gas regulator - ideally a two-stage one with two dials so you can see the bottle pressure and the downstream pressure.

A CO2 bottle.

A chain and hooks or other method of securing the gas bottle to the wall(!). Avoid death by spending £3!