What An Addictive Hobby !! :)

The forum for discussing all kinds of brewing paraphernalia.
turbomad2b

What An Addictive Hobby !! :)

Post by turbomad2b » Thu Oct 15, 2009 5:19 pm

Im new to home brew and i thought i would start out as it seemed a cheap alternative to buying in shops, plus its a new hobby for me !
I started a week ago and so far ive spent £120, on something i initially thought would be £20 :lol:
I know its not alot of ££ in the world of home brew but like i say the youngs brew buddy starter kits advertised for £20 are 'everything to get going' so i first thought that would be it, in fairness it was enough to get my brew going but then the addictiveness kicked in :)

After the starter kit i wanted a pressure barrel, then i wanted a co2 injector system, then tools of the trade (tablets,brushes,enhancers,sugars,test jar,powders,etc) , anyone else noticed how quick the hobby gets hold of you, wilkinsons must be sick of seeing me now :)

About to rack my first batch of lager so this better be coins well spent :lol:

RussDeBuss

Re: What An Addictive Hobby !! :)

Post by RussDeBuss » Thu Oct 15, 2009 6:23 pm

which youngs kit did you get?

I started with the larger kit, and it is ok-ish. i used standard white sugar and tap water, tried it after 2 weeks like the instructions say and it wasn't too great, after 4 weeks it tasted a lot better, but still not great, using standard sugar has left it a bit thin, it certainly has strength, got pretty merry when i had to get one of the 2 litre coke bottles i used for it out of the fridge to make room for food(girlfriend doesn't agree that the fridge should be 75% full of beer and food is jammed into any gaps she can find, strange ;D ).

theres also a slight "twang" to it, i am not sure if this is from chlorine and fluoride in tap water, or because it is a kit from a can, i'm still new to this so not sure but it's definatly drinkable after 4 weeks in the fridge, not the 2 they suggest, but try it anyway.