Heated V unheated Mash tun

The forum for discussing all kinds of brewing paraphernalia.
polymoog

Heated V unheated Mash tun

Post by polymoog » Sun Dec 13, 2009 10:15 am

I have been brewing again for approx 6 months after a break of 10 years and iam amazed how much this hobby has progressed.
I originally started brewing again to save money but it hasn't worked out that way as i spend enough on kegs and boliers etc to buy a years worth of beer!!!
I am currently using a 5 gallon tea urn as a mash tun (hidden element type) which works well. just set to mash temp and go.
My question is some of you seem to favour the insulated coolbox route. is there a reason for this as all i can see is ... if using lager malt then the temp cannot be easily adjusted from 55 to 66 centigrade for the correct mash. Or does no one on here drink lager? Does the coolbox lose any heat over the 90mins mash?
Many thanks

floydmeddler
Telling everyone Your My Best Mate

Re: Heated V unheated Mash tun

Post by floydmeddler » Sun Dec 13, 2009 10:33 am

They are all different. But ideally the shouldn't loose more than a degree or two over 90 mins. In order to get the mash temp spot on, you must take into consideration the temperature of the grains, the weight of the grains and the volume of mash water. What I do is heat my mash water to around 85c then add it to the mash tun. I put the lid on and leave it for around 10 mins while I get other stuff ready. This insulates the mash tun and ensures a steady temperature throughout the mash. When you start adding the grains depends on the temperature of the grains. This is usually when the mash water reaches between 73c-75c. Last night I was aiming for 67c. My grains were 19c which meant that my mash water had to be 75c. I hit my 67c target bang on and it stayed at that for the full 90 mins.

If this all sounds complicated, don't worry... there's a strike temperature calculator that does it all for you!

http://www.jimsbeerkit.co.uk/calc.html

polymoog