Rusting in Cornelius keg

The forum for discussing all kinds of brewing paraphernalia.
thunderbird7

Rusting in Cornelius keg

Post by thunderbird7 » Fri May 05, 2017 2:43 pm

I am relatively new to home brewing, only about a year now, and have picked up loads of good advice from this forum from the early days. I'm Hoping someone can help me with a problem I've had with rusting in one of my 3 Cornelius kegs - all were bought brand new from a uk supplier.

Basically I have been brewing all grain, using kegs mainly to store and dispense my brews. I had on occasion tasted a slight metallic taste in the odd glass of beer, but put it down to the kegs being new. I recent discovered that one of the AEB had two areas or rust. One on the welded seam at the top of the keg, the other around the weld of the gas in post. I only noticed as there were metallic looking tracks coming down the side of the keg to around halfway. I have only used the keg a maximum of 4 times over the past 9 months, possibly less.

I contacted my supplier of this AEB keg and they queried what I used to clean the kegs. I have only ever used VWP and Starsan, from the same supplier...... Their response was that VWP will have been the culprit as it contains chlorine. One google later I saw that the active ingredient Troclosene is a chlorine compound. I sent photos and they sent them to AEB, who also replied that a chlorine based cleaning agent was responsible.

I contacted VWP and they say there is no way VWP could have caused the problem as it only contains 1% chlorine, plus cleaners and buffers to protect materials it is used on. My supplier has forwarded the VWP response to AEB and I await a reply.

The bottom line is that I have a keg that is useless at the moment and I don't know who to believe or how to remedy the situation.
So the question is, has anyone experienced this kind of issue with their kegs?