fermentation

Discuss all aspects of fermentation
carlo fabb

fermentation

Post by carlo fabb » Mon Oct 17, 2016 7:52 pm

Hi im a beginner brewer and hoping someone can help me with a question regarding fermentation. I bought a mashkit and the instruction said to ferment in a primary vessel for 3 days. Then rack into a closed secondary fermenter fitted with an airlock. My question is do I have to keep the lid off of the primary vessel? I have a conical fermenter do i still have to change from one vessel to another? Thanks in advance

Rogermort
Piss Artist

Re: fermentation

Post by Rogermort » Mon Oct 17, 2016 8:46 pm

Lid (and airlock) on both.

Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk

Kev888
So far gone I'm on the way back again!

Re: fermentation

Post by Kev888 » Tue Oct 18, 2016 9:47 am

Most beginners (and in fact most very experienced homebrewers) would just have flat-bottomed fermenters, the racking instructions are for those. Conical fermenters are designed to avoid the need for this by dumping sediment out of the bottom rather than taking the beer off the top of it. There are a few reasons for racking, or in your case dumping; as best practice some people do some or all of them, others don't bother to do any and still make decent beer so generally speaking its not hugely critical:

Firstly, after around a day you can dump any cold break and trub that ended up in the fermenter and gradually settled over the first several hours or so - depending on how you filter and cool the hot wort you may have more or less of this. Before conical fermenters were introduced many breweries would rack (partly) for this reason with what they called the dropping (or double dropping) method. Most homebrewers don't bother with this as for most the effects aren't noticed or even accepted, but its easy to do with a conical.