S-05 Attenuattion

Discuss all aspects of fermentation
chefgage
Hollow Legs

S-05 Attenuattion

Post by chefgage » Thu Nov 24, 2016 8:37 pm

I have a small batch of 10l that had an OG of 1.076. It is now at 1.030 and has been for the last two days. If this gravity does not change anymore what are my options.

The tasted sample tastes good. According to the software its apparent attenuation is 60% which if I remember is low for S-05??

The gravity seems a bit high for bottling though right :?:

Wonkydonkey
Drunk as a Skunk

Re: S-05 Attenuattion

Post by Wonkydonkey » Thu Nov 24, 2016 11:54 pm

Not that I'm an expert, I would have thought it would go lower, but what temp did you mash at. I have some xmass beer which started off at 1.062 and has been in working away for the last 8 days, the last time I looked and tested the sg. It was a bit high, 1.040 I'm thinking 1.012 will be about right but who knows .ps the mash temp was a bit low 65 going down to 64 maybe 63 over the hr.

I will test it and maybe give it a little stir in a day or to and then leave for another 2 days. But that's my way,! not the best but it's fitting everything in the time I get.
To Busy To Add,

chefgage
Hollow Legs

Post by chefgage » Fri Nov 25, 2016 7:59 am

i cannot remember what the mash temperature was. It was whatever beersmith said to mash at. I will have a look on beersmith later and post it up

orlando
So far gone I'm on the way back again!
Location: North Norfolk: Nearest breweries All Day Brewery, Salle. Panther, Reepham. Yetman's, Holt

Post by orlando » Fri Nov 25, 2016 8:11 am

Did you rehydrate or sprinkle? What % of the grist was adjunct?
I am "The Little Red Brooster"

Fermenting:
Conditioning:
Drinking: Southwold Again,

Up Next: John Barleycorn (Barley Wine)
Planning: Winter drinking Beer

chefgage
Hollow Legs

Post by chefgage » Fri Nov 25, 2016 8:20 am

The yeast was sprinkled and i used 20% adjuncts

orlando