4 week turnaround - conditioning & priming

Discuss all aspects of fermentation
Toxophilly

4 week turnaround - conditioning & priming

Post by Toxophilly » Sat Feb 25, 2017 12:59 pm

Hi all,

This is my first post here :mrgreen:

I've been brewing for about 4 years and am on my ninth or so all-grain brew. I try to learn and do new things each time, so for my next brew I want to try a fast turnaround from brewing to drinking. I've got a book of recipes and each recipe specifies primary fermentation (hopefully a week or less) followed by a certain number of weeks' conditioning, the fewest being 3.

My question is this: should priming with sugar and allowing time to carbonate be added onto the end of conditioning, or can they be done at the same time?

In other words, would the recipe above be
1 week primary + 3 weeks conditioning & carbonating (total 4), or
1 week primary + 3 weeks conditioning + 2 weeks carbonating (total 6)?

An additional question is how long is necessary for carbonation to complete, and at what temperature? Conditioning temperatures are usually low, but I think warmer temperatures will help carbonate more quickly.

Looking forward to hearing your thoughts!

dbambrick996
Piss Artist

Re: 4 week turnaround - conditioning & priming

Post by dbambrick996 » Sat Feb 25, 2017 2:39 pm

Conditioning and carbonation can happen at the same time, so the first option providing primary finishes in a week. Do not attempt bottle conditioning unless primary is complete or u run the risk of bottle bombs.
Try a Blonde ale recipe with a very clean yeast us05 or mangrove jacks m54. M54 is a beast and should finish out in 5 days.

Jim
Site Admin

Post by Jim » Sat Feb 25, 2017 3:34 pm

It's not impossible to do it, but it would be tight.