Yeast Starter

Discuss all aspects of fermentation
Mike123
Tippler

Yeast Starter

Post by Mike123 » Thu Mar 09, 2023 11:18 am

I have not brewed lager before but I now have temperature control for fermentation and I thought I would have a go at Nick's Marzen. It uses Wyeast 2206. I have used liquid yeast quite a bit for ales and pitched directly with no problems. The write up suggests using a starter, will this be necessary for a 23l batch size? If I need to make a starter what is the best way to do this as I have never done this before? Thanks.

LeeH
Under the Table

Re: Yeast Starter

Post by LeeH » Thu Mar 09, 2023 11:39 am

Sabro Single Hop NEIPA 25/02/20 CLICK ME to monitor progress with Brewfather & iSpindel

Mike123
Tippler

Post by Mike123 » Thu Mar 09, 2023 12:12 pm

That's great thanks for the link

f00b4r
Site Admin

Post by f00b4r » Fri Mar 10, 2023 5:02 pm

You will generally need more cells when fermenting a lager due to the lower fermenting temperatures. Take a look at the online calculators for how much, but a 4L stepped one for lager isn’t unusual.
It isn’t as scary as it sounds though, just don’t try and do it in one step. You could use a demijohn or 5L water bottle or make a mini stovetop batch and then use the yeast cake.

f00b4r
Site Admin

Post by f00b4r » Fri Mar 10, 2023 5:08 pm

What’s the BB or manufacturing date on the yeast packet? Do you have a stir plate? I can run some numbers for you.
It looks like you can get away with a smaller starter, given the gravity and using a step.

Mike123
Tippler

Post by Mike123 » Mon Mar 13, 2023 10:07 pm

f00b4r wrote:
Fri Mar 10, 2023 5:08 pm
What’s the BB or manufacturing date on the yeast packet? Do you have a stir plate? I can run some numbers for you.
It looks like you can get away with a smaller starter, given the gravity and using a step.