Starting out on water treatment

(That's water to the rest of us!) Beer is about 95% water, so if you want to discuss water treatment, filtering etc this is the place to do it!
Full Mental Jakey
Steady Drinker

Starting out on water treatment

Post by Full Mental Jakey » Sun Jan 19, 2014 5:39 pm

I'm just starting out understanding the process of testing my water and treating it.

For starters, when people refer to Salifert kits for testing, are these the kits?

http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/SALIFERT-Alka ... 3cd013e682
http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/SALIFERT-CA-C ... 2c5b3d6480

Was a little unsure if they were suitable for testing fresh water, as they appear to be aimed at salt-water aquarium testing...

barry44

Re: Starting out on water treatment

Post by barry44 » Sun Jan 19, 2014 7:57 pm

I use the first one to determine how much acid I need to add to my sparge water in bru n water. Very easy to use and understand

Full Mental Jakey
Steady Drinker

Post by Full Mental Jakey » Sun Jan 19, 2014 8:13 pm

Great, that's the same purpose I had in mind. I have the water report for my area, but to my surprise there is no indication of alkalinity (I know it's low, but not how low). So if I can measure it myself easily with a £9 kit, it's a no-brainer.

barry44

Post by barry44 » Sun Jan 19, 2014 8:31 pm

Absolutely. You can get over 100 tests from that and as far as I can see it is not a test you have to carry out every time you brew. Mine has been the same the two times I have tested it.

Aleman
It's definitely Lock In Time

Post by Aleman » Sun Jan 19, 2014 8:40 pm

barry44 wrote:Absolutely. You can get over 100 tests from that and as far as I can see it is not a test you have to carry out every time you brew.
Yes it flippin is!!!!

I've had stable reading for several years then all of a sudden last year it shot up from 24 - 135 mg/l . . .it's been up and down like a whores drawers since then, although has now started to settle back around the 20mg/l mark.

Just to emphasise