A total newbie to water treatment has some questions

(That's water to the rest of us!) Beer is about 95% water, so if you want to discuss water treatment, filtering etc this is the place to do it!
Redimpz
Hollow Legs

A total newbie to water treatment has some questions

Post by Redimpz » Tue Feb 20, 2018 11:51 am

I've been brewing for some years now mostly using biab. I have recently invested in a Grainfather which is a great bit of kit. I have been pondering water treatment but a lot of it goes completely over my head. With this in mind I have a few questions.
I am planning on continuing to use my tap water which so far has produced decent beer. I am in the mid Lincs area which comes under Anglian water.

1, Where is the best place to get a water report? I have seen Wallybrew mentioned and I recall mention of Murphy's.

2, What is the procedure? I realise that I shall have to send them a sample, but will I need to contact them first to arrange this or do I just send them a pop bottle of my tap water?

3,Will the report tell me exactly how much of each chemical I'd need to add to my water to achieve the profile I need. (i.e. how many grammes per litre)?

4,How easy is it to get the chemicals I'd need?

5, I currently use a digital scale for measuring my hops, should this be adequate for weighing chemicals or would I be better off investing in a better scales?

Thanks in advance for any replies.

Meatymc
Drunk as a Skunk

Re: A total newbie to water treatment has some questions

Post by Meatymc » Tue Feb 20, 2018 12:19 pm

Just going through the same process so hope this helps:

1 Wallybrew is your man - ping him a PM and he'll lead you through the process

2 As above

3 Yes - all you need

4 Very - got mine from my usual source (Hop and Grape Darlington) but everyone supplies