Possible Stuck Fermentation?

Discuss making up beer kits - the simplest way to brew.
Wez

Possible Stuck Fermentation?

Post by Wez » Mon Feb 26, 2007 7:13 pm

You guys must be bored by now of hearing about Muntons kits 'sticking' :cry: . I've been brewing their kits for 18 months without a real problem however.....i have a smugglers on the go at the moment (Started Tue 20th) it dropped to 1018 by Saturday and has stayed there since. Would you consider this stuck and should i go ahead and add the dry beer enzyme or a sachet of Safale 04 yeast or just give it a few more days to see what happens. I used the yeast which came with the kit (as i always have but following DaaB's advice on a different post will no longer do).

BIGTRACTOR

Post by BIGTRACTOR » Mon Feb 26, 2007 8:50 pm

i started a smugglers sunday, i havent checked the gravity yet, but i'm getting worried !! :( :( :(

why oh why did i forget to buy some safale 04 ? :oops: :oops: :x

with all these people having problems with muntons and woodefords you would think they'd be able to sort the problem out and put some decent, reliable yeast in their kits, particularly as they are both at the expensive premium range. :twisted:

Wez

Post by Wez » Mon Feb 26, 2007 9:23 pm

Don't be too concerned, i've done quite a few smugglers without a problem, i think i may be panicking unduly with this one and only actually became aware of the 'stuck fermentation' issue after looking at this forum. The advice here is excellent and from people who have brewed for years, you really can't beat experience!!

Not sure if you have used the smugglers kit before, if you haven't you won't be dissapointed - the guy at my LHBS told me that even muntons competitors have had to 'tip their cap' at it =D>

I will be taking the advice and using a different yeast in future brews and really looking forward to seeing the difference.

Has your fermentation started yet?

BIGTRACTOR

Post by BIGTRACTOR » Mon Feb 26, 2007 9:30 pm