Top Cropping for storage?

Share your experiences of using brewing yeast.
simmyb
Piss Artist

Top Cropping for storage?

Post by simmyb » Thu May 30, 2013 6:30 pm

Hi Everyone, not posted much on here before now but I've been reading this forum avidly for the last few months, so thanks for all the tips so far!

I'm new to all grain brewing, did my second mash last weekend (which went much better than my first, although the first batch is still better than any of the kits I've done and it still has some maturation to go!) and thought I would have a go at some yeast harvesting.

The brew is Wheeler's London Pride recipe and I used a Wyeast Thames Valley 1275 smackpack (first use of a liquid yeast), which activated well and went straight into the wort with no starter. The fermentation started rapidly and thick and yeasty Krausen developed so after a couple of days I thought I would skim some off the top to experiment with more than anything, just use it to get more familiar with recovering yeast. (At the same time, I also added some spraymalt to a drained bottle from a previous brew to see what I would get out of that.)

With the thought of experimenting in mind, I thought I would mix the skimmed yeast with 300ml of spraymalt solution and put it in a bottle with an airlock. This fermented out quite quickly and left a decent amount of yeast in the bottle. I then decided to put this in a demijohn with another litre of spraymalt solution. This has nearly fermented out and has left about 3/4" of yeast in the bottom of the DJ.