Good dried yeast for belgian styles?

Share your experiences of using brewing yeast.
TheSumOfAllBeers
Lost in an Alcoholic Haze

Good dried yeast for belgian styles?

Post by TheSumOfAllBeers » Thu Dec 08, 2016 2:54 pm

I have had good luck with both Belle Saison and Fermentis B256/abbaye.

But looking for an alternative for my next belgian project. Perhaps a dubbel, another single or a chimay blue clone.

Any suggestions? With real experiences too - I can read manufacturers product descriptions, but I want to know if they stand up to it.

Sadfield

Re: Good dried yeast for belgian styles?

Post by Sadfield » Fri Dec 09, 2016 10:59 am

Doesn't look like there are many options for Dry Abbey/Trappiste yeasts, B256 or Danstar Abbaye (plus some repackaged versions from MJ etc). I have no experience of either as I use Wyeast Belgian Abbey II for my Belgian ales, but what I would say is that you may already use your alternative, in B256. Belgian brewers tend to use the same yeast on all their beers and with its fermentation range of 12-25c there is plenty you can do to adjust the flavour profile of B256, making it a versatile "house" yeast. The skill in Belgian brewing is stressing the yeast just enough to create a balance of 'off' flavours without going too far. It is amazing how complex they can be given the simple grists and hop bill.

Sent from my LG-H815 using Tapatalk

soupdragon
Under the Table

Post by soupdragon » Fri Dec 09, 2016 11:18 am

When I was looking for a dry version of fullers esb yeast the standard munton ale yeast was mentioned on a few comparisons. I contacted them to ask and they said it's actually a Belgian style strain. It might not be suitable for your usage but could be worth considering?

Cheers. Tom

TheSumOfAllBeers

Post by TheSumOfAllBeers » Fri Dec 09, 2016 12:02 pm

So the MJ dried stuff is just repackaged other yeast?

B256 is good, and I think it suits darker Belgians, but looking for variety

soupdragon
Under the Table