Brewing IPA's

Get advice on making beer from raw ingredients (malt, hops, water and yeast)
Nathan

Brewing IPA's

Post by Nathan » Thu Jan 01, 2015 10:01 pm

I'm new to brewing (and JBK) and wanted to ask why all the advice I can find on IPA's says that you need to balance the brew with crystal malts? I understand that it will add sweetness to the finished ale but IPA's are all about the hops. I'm planning on using Maris otter and Vienna malts in my first IPA brew but wanted to ask what flavour issues I might experience using these? Hops I'm planning on using are Galaxy, Citra and styrian.

Any assistance would be gratefully received.

Hanglow
Under the Table

Re: Brewing IPA's

Post by Hanglow » Thu Jan 01, 2015 10:12 pm

Some people like them with some crystal and some - myself included - without or very little, like 2% at most

You can do a great IPA with just Marris otter as base and nothing else.

Anything over about 6% and I'd start replacing base malt with some simple sugar to it as well

Matt12398

Post by Matt12398 » Fri Jan 02, 2015 9:50 am

The question that you have to ask yourself is whether you like your IPAs to taste like hoppy beer or water with lots of hops in. If you prefer the former then a bit of crystal malt goes well in an IPA. Munich is also a good addition, probably more so than Vienna.

The issue I have with a lot of the UK brewed 'American' IPAs is that they only taste of hops and nothing else. There are exceptions. Drink anything by the American brewers like Sierra Nevada, Flying Dog, Stone, etc. and there's a bit more sweetness and complexity to them. They're not just dry hop water. It all depends on what you like drinking though.

This is a very interesting article which I read recently which is mostly related to dry hopping but it's got some good information on brewing IPAs.

http://www.port66.co.uk/dextrins-dry-ho ... pe-design/

Matt12398

Post by Matt12398 » Fri Jan 02, 2015 9:53 am

Double post.