Cyber brewing - 'Not Real' ales

Get advice on making beer from raw ingredients (malt, hops, water and yeast)
John Barleycorn
Sober

Cyber brewing - 'Not Real' ales

Post by John Barleycorn » Sat Jul 07, 2018 1:39 pm

I'm a complete beginner at all grain brewing.
I enjoy a challenge and see this as something in which I can make progress.
I have a fair bit of experience with kit beers and wines. I've also in the past successfully brewed up the ingredients for a wide variety of country wines, using recipes found here and there, with ingredients such as fruit, vegetables and flowers.
I like a nice pint of ale and hope that I will be successful cobbling together something that I will enjoy, especially if I can make it for less than 50p a pint. 8)
So far I have happily completed and consumed one very small batch [a gallon - 9x500ml bottles] of All Grain booze. I have another batch conditioning in bottles and a third finishing its ferment in a demijohn. Right now I am consuming ginger ale as I wait, impatiently, for my real ale to be ready.

I used some brew software to look at these three AG ales and their components. It looks like they could do with a tweak or two to improve their character and balance.
I have also entered some clone recipes found online into my software and these too appeared to be unbalanced and not quite 'right'.
Maybe clone isn't the way to go?

So, I messed with the software to create an 'improved' ale. I will soon actually do the brew and see if my experience tallies with what my software suggests. I'm no beer judge but I know what I like.

Is using software to plan in this way something which works out in practice? Or is it very hit and miss?

I have a brown ale and a lighter ale in my cyber brew portfolio. Neither of which I have actally brewed as yet.

Here is the lighter ale. Do you think it will work? It looks good on my software.