This makes no sense

Get advice on making beer from raw ingredients (malt, hops, water and yeast)
Paddington
Piss Artist

This makes no sense

Post by Paddington » Tue Oct 02, 2018 2:04 pm

I have done maybe 25 AG brews, so I wouldn't class myself as an old timer but I'm also not a complete novice and I'm confident of all of the measurements I've taken but this makes no sense to me.

I've just done a 10l mini brew of a heavily hopped US IPA. I was aiming for an OG of about 1.048. I batch sparked 12 litres into my boiler and the pre boil gravity was very high, around 1.045. I took a second sample to check. I added an extra litre of water to compensate. The hop schedule amounted to 100g.

When I came to put it into the fermenter, I had 8litres. I liquored it back to 10 litres and the OG is now 1.042. I even put the water I used to liquor back through the hops.

I haven't spilled any, so where has the sugar gone???

Robwalkeragain
Hollow Legs

Re: This makes no sense

Post by Robwalkeragain » Tue Oct 02, 2018 2:16 pm

I assume something interfering with the reading - temperature, solids in wort, etc. What do you mean by you put the water through hops?

Paddington
Piss Artist

Post by Paddington » Tue Oct 02, 2018 3:05 pm

I drained the brew from the boiler into the fermenter through a sieve (it's such a small brew). When I realised it was short, I poured two litres of sanitary water through the hops in the sieve, obviously hoping to flush out any remaining wort (plus a bit of hop flavour!).

gr_baker
Piss Artist

Post by gr_baker » Tue Oct 02, 2018 3:29 pm

As Rob says it's probably a suspect reading for some reason. The hops will absorb wort but not as much as that.

Paddington
Piss Artist

Post by Paddington » Tue Oct 02, 2018 3:41 pm

I retook the pre boil reading several times. I've just gone to the fermenter and retaken that one, plus I've tested the hydrometer with clean water.

chefgage
Hollow Legs

Post by chefgage » Tue Oct 02, 2018 3:55 pm

Paddington wrote: