First time home brew - AG Mosaic IPA

Get advice on making beer from raw ingredients (malt, hops, water and yeast)
Captain Beaufort
Sober

First time home brew - AG Mosaic IPA

Post by Captain Beaufort » Tue Apr 06, 2021 6:12 pm

Hi all!

I’m underway with my first home AG Brew and have several questions forming. I thought to write up my experience so far in case others have some opinion and tips to chime in with. Previously I’ve done a brew day at Brockley brewery in London learning All Grain method with a 3V system – mash tun cooler & brew kettle. I recently decided to give AG a go at home and have bought a 30 Litre Klarstein Mash Kettle 5 piece kit.

I bought the Mosaic IPA AG recipe pack from BrewUK to get me started. Claiming to make 23 Litres of Wort with an OG of 1.055.

Although I’ve never used an all in one system before I was pretty impressed with how easy the Klarstein is to operate. My main gripe is that it has no internal measurement markings, so I very carefully filled to 23 litres (amount of strike water needed) and marked and then to 27 litres (amount of wort to brew) and marked. I will plan to mark these more permanently at some point before my next brew day.

The unit heated fairly quickly to temperature and was very easy to use for the mash. I manually cycled the wort through the grain with a 5 litre jug as the unit I bought doesn’t have a pump. After draining the wort I sparged a further 4 litres through the grain and topped up to 27 litres as per the recipe. The brew was straight forward, getting up to temperature and hopping the Cascade in a muslin bag for the duration. I plumbed the wort chiller to my garden hose to cool as much as possible though that still took a good 30 mins or so. Anyway, up to now all going well, mashed, sparged, boiled, cooled.

Problem 1 :