Dry Hopping - How much

Get advice on making beer from raw ingredients (malt, hops, water and yeast)
Bertie Doe
Steady Drinker

Dry Hopping - How much

Post by Bertie Doe » Sat Feb 11, 2023 9:27 pm

On Monday I'll be starting a batch of St Austel 'Proper Job' IPA. Graham Wheeler states"adding a few hop cones to the cask after filling". Does he mean - add hops at the start of ferment or when the ferment has finished, just prior to bottling? I'm not sure what the weight of a few hop cones is.

I'll be using Cascade aroma pellets but how many grams would you use? The hops won't be sterile (ie.boiled) so is there any risk of contamination. Thanks in anticipation.

Eric
Even further under the Table

Re: Dry Hopping - How much

Post by Eric » Sun Feb 12, 2023 12:14 am

Proper Job is well hopped, but I have no knowledge of what St. Austel do.

Traditional British dry hopping is done after fermentation, when the cask has been filled with beer. Before being sealed with the shive, a few hop cones are added. The amount varies, but normally is just a few grams per Firkin. When tapped, a hop filter fits between the tap and the tail/barb connecting to the beer line. While hops have antibacterial properties, cask beer has a very short shelf life and there is no concern about contamination and at a typical pH of 4.0 of cask beer, most bacteria will have very limited effect.

I suspect Proper Job may be dry hopped after fermentation is complete and the yeast has been harvested for the next brew. A healthy fermentation of ale will be completed within 4 days when the hops should be added and the beer racked off the yeast and hops 3 days later would be my advice. The amount is entirely up to you.
Without patience, life becomes difficult and the sooner it's finished, the better.

MashBag

Post by MashBag » Sun Feb 12, 2023 10:44 am

Bertie Doe wrote:
Sat Feb 11, 2023 9:27 pm