Kegging and low consumption

A forum to discuss the various ways of getting beer into your glass.
Olleman

Kegging and low consumption

Post by Olleman » Mon Jun 20, 2016 8:11 am

I've been brewing for 10 years now and always wanted a kegging setup but never really took the plunge. The thing that stops me every time is the cleaning aspect.

I consume perhaps 2 litres of beer/week and almost only on the weekend. I also want to drink different beers so let's assume that I will drink 1l from the keg each week and some extra when I have guests at the house. Some people tell me that I need to clean the beer lines every week to keep them clean and avoid infection spreading to the keg (I will have the setup including lines in a fridge). Is this really necessary? This is a deal breaker for me. If I were to clean the lines for each litre of beer consumed I suspect I would lose another dl or two just from the beer in the lines. If everything is inside the fridge can't I go longer?

Are there other solutions for me? Perhaps a tap that connects directly to the keg thus avoiding beeer lines all together? Or should I just accept that bottling (which I've become quite good at) is the best way for me...?

Incidently, does anyone know of cheap place for kegging equipment with shipping to sweden?

,Olle

vacant
Even further under the Table

Re: Kegging and low consumption

Post by vacant » Mon Jun 20, 2016 9:47 am

Flushing out 1.5 metres of 3/16 inch beer line (I have Valpar 4.8mm OD 3mm ID) would waste about 100ml of beer.
I brew therefore I ... I .... forget

Olleman

Post by Olleman » Mon Jun 20, 2016 9:54 am

It's all a matter of perspectiv I guesse but with my consumption pattern that amounts to 10% of the whole keg going to waste just because of cleaning.

vacant

Post by vacant » Mon Jun 20, 2016 10:08 am

Right! Schedule your line clean for when you want to drink.
  • Disconnect beer line and attach to keg/pressure cleaner with Starsan
  • Hold beer tap over empty beer glass