Can I put a 1 gallon batch in a 19l corney?

A forum to discuss the various ways of getting beer into your glass.
Post Reply
User avatar
StrontiumDog
Piss Artist
Posts: 128
Joined: Mon Mar 13, 2017 11:26 am

Can I put a 1 gallon batch in a 19l corney?

Post by StrontiumDog » Sat May 13, 2017 3:54 pm

Hi everyone, after my next bit of advice.

As the subject suggests. I've done a one gallon all grain brew to test a recipe. When I do a 5 gallon batch I put it in a 19l corney keg and prime with CO2. Can I use my corney for a 1 gallon batch?

Sent from my SM-G920F using Tapatalk

User avatar
Dads_Ale
Piss Artist
Posts: 185
Joined: Fri Feb 14, 2014 5:58 pm
Location: Newbury UK

Re: Can I put a 1 gallon batch in a 19l corney?

Post by Dads_Ale » Sat May 13, 2017 4:15 pm

Yes

User avatar
6470zzy
Telling everyone Your My Best Mate
Posts: 4355
Joined: Sun Jun 14, 2009 7:07 pm
Location: Cape Cod

Re: Can I put a 1 gallon batch in a 19l corney?

Post by 6470zzy » Sat May 13, 2017 5:12 pm

Most certainly, just ensure that you purge the head space with CO2. :aarh:

Cheers
"Work is the curse of the drinking class"
Oscar Wilde

Fil
Telling imaginary friend stories
Posts: 5229
Joined: Sun Oct 16, 2011 1:49 pm
Location: Cowley, Oxford

Re: Can I put a 1 gallon batch in a 19l corney?

Post by Fil » Sat May 13, 2017 8:51 pm

as above.. go for it.
ist update for months n months..
Fermnting: not a lot..
Conditioning: nowt
Maturing: Challenger smash, and a kit lager
Drinking: dry one minikeg left in the store
Coming Soon Lots planned for the near future nowt for the immediate :(

User avatar
Kev888
So far gone I'm on the way back again!
Posts: 7700
Joined: Fri Mar 19, 2010 6:22 pm
Location: Derbyshire, UK

Re: Can I put a 1 gallon batch in a 19l corney?

Post by Kev888 » Sun May 14, 2017 11:16 pm

Yes, as above. If you want to be really pedantic (since purging is less than perfect) you can fill the keg with boiled (and so sterilized) water and expel that with CO2 before filling. But unless your beer has been finely filtered to remove all live yeast then i doubt that would be necessary.
Kev

Post Reply