How to set pressure on secondary regulators

A forum to discuss the various ways of getting beer into your glass.
Post Reply
User avatar
StrontiumDog
Piss Artist
Posts: 136
Joined: Mon Mar 13, 2017 11:26 am

How to set pressure on secondary regulators

Post by StrontiumDog » Sat Feb 23, 2019 8:52 am

Good morning everyone

I'm in the market for a secondary regulator and I've been looking at the micromatic compact secondary which is pretty affordable;

https://brandels.co.uk/shop/micromatic/ ... regulator/

The micromatic secondary has graduations on it instead of a gauge so that you know what pressure you are setting to.

I have however seen something similar but without a gauge or pressure dial similar to this;

https://rover.ebay.com/rover/0/0/0?mpre ... 2306668092

My question is; without graduations or a pressure dial, how do you set the pressure on these types of secondary?

Cheers

Jase

Sent from my SM-G950F using Tapatalk


f00b4r
Lost in an Alcoholic Haze
Posts: 706
Joined: Fri Jul 11, 2014 10:54 pm
Location: Berlin

Re: How to set pressure on secondary regulators

Post by f00b4r » Sun Feb 24, 2019 8:35 am

You can add an inline guage in permanently or temporarily to set pressure on the latter. I know someone who has the one with graduations and he is very happy with them, testing showed them to be accurate and they are very small.

User avatar
PeeBee
Hollow Legs
Posts: 482
Joined: Thu Jan 21, 2016 2:50 pm
Location: North Wales

Re: How to set pressure on secondary regulators

Post by PeeBee » Sun Feb 24, 2019 2:20 pm

StrontiumDog wrote:
Sat Feb 23, 2019 8:52 am
Good morning everyone

I'm in the market for a secondary regulator and I've been looking at the micromatic compact secondary which is pretty affordable;

https://brandels.co.uk/shop/micromatic/ ... regulator/

...
Do you mean "affordable" or "cheap"? Because they are not the latter! But I suppose they may have mounts that fit in better with existing kit?

I use these http://www.shako-online-sales.com/frl/regulators/NR200, the L2 model and don't forget the very cheap gauge (an option).

User avatar
alexlark
Under the Table
Posts: 1342
Joined: Thu May 02, 2013 12:29 pm
Location: Rhondda, South Wales

Re: How to set pressure on secondary regulators

Post by alexlark » Sun Feb 24, 2019 10:09 pm

I use the micromatic compact regulators. No issues with them, work very well and easy to set pressure. The graduations seem accurate enough.

Had them off eBay new. Keep an eye out, they appear from time to time. Paid about £10 - £15 each.

User avatar
StrontiumDog
Piss Artist
Posts: 136
Joined: Mon Mar 13, 2017 11:26 am

Re: How to set pressure on secondary regulators

Post by StrontiumDog » Sun Mar 03, 2019 8:23 am

Thanks for the advice everyone, I'll keep an eye out on eBay

Sent from my SM-G950F using Tapatalk


Post Reply