Stainless vs brass for CO2 system?

A forum to discuss the various ways of getting beer into your glass.
patwestlake
Steady Drinker

Stainless vs brass for CO2 system?

Post by patwestlake » Wed Aug 14, 2019 6:28 pm

What's the difference in getting a stainless reg vs a brass one (from China)? With the rest of the brewing gear I'm OK with what's best where, but I'm new to kegging and am working back from the keg. Post keg will be stainless as it's on contact with the beer. I know I need pressure control rather than flow but not sure about where the money goes in a reg. 2 gauges a must, obviously!

Cheers, Pat
FV : #99 Highway to Helles (Munich Helles)
Next up - #100 Farmhouse in Your Soul (Saison)

Drinking :
#98 Bells Light Hearted (3.9% IPA)
#97 Decadence 64 (Mosaic IPA)
#96 Wicked Weasel (Fursty Ferret Clone)
#95 Penarth Gold (Loweswater Gold Clone)
#94 Cheeseburger Cavalry (US IPA)

LeeH
Under the Table

Re: Stainless vs brass for CO2 system?

Post by LeeH » Wed Aug 14, 2019 6:39 pm

When dealing 500 psi, I’d rather buy one from a know source.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro
Sabro Single Hop NEIPA 25/02/20 CLICK ME to monitor progress with Brewfather & iSpindel

mozza
Under the Table

Post by mozza » Fri Aug 16, 2019 10:44 am

I’ve tried the cheap welding ones and in my opinion they’re a waste of time. Mine gave up after about a year. I now use one of these [https://www.themaltmiller.co.uk/product ... regulator/] and has been going strong for a couple of years now.
Cheers and gone,

Mozza

PeeBee
Under the Table

Post by PeeBee » Fri Aug 16, 2019 3:57 pm

patwestlake wrote:
Wed Aug 14, 2019 6:28 pm
… 2 gauges a must, obviously!