Storing ale in casks

Discuss making up beer kits - the simplest way to brew.
cazabrew

Storing ale in casks

Post by cazabrew » Mon Aug 04, 2014 7:10 pm

Hi

I'm new to brewing, but have been drink ales for a long time. Can I ask, if instead of bottling a kit or extract ale that I want to put some into a cask to keep for later? How long does the beer last after the first pint has been poured from the cask? I have had easy 5l kegs which once opened you only get 2 or maybe 3 days at a push and are a realistic amount to drink at once for me, but if i wanted to put into a bigger cask does the beer have the same lifespan or will it last longer once opened and started?

I would also like to find out if anyone has a recipe for a Jarl or Hurricane Jack type clone or even Greenmantle, Something nice, golden and full of flavour, but not too complicated to brew for a beginner.

Ditch
Five figured forum fanatic

Re: Storing ale in casks

Post by Ditch » Mon Aug 04, 2014 7:25 pm

Could ye please better define " Cask " ? Do ye mean wooden barrels or plastic ones?

cazabrew

Post by cazabrew » Mon Aug 04, 2014 7:29 pm

Sorry I mean the plastic ones which hold up to 25 litres

Ditch

Post by Ditch » Mon Aug 04, 2014 7:48 pm

Oh. Good. No problem with them then.

I use the bog standard sort ~ BK's / Basic Kegs ~ and don't bother with gas. I just loosen the cap as I pour a pint. Head doesn't last. But, then, I don't wash my f**king eyes with it anyway.

Suits me. Been bang at it for years, with BK's. No problemmo. Back in the day? I tried all sorts of Top Tap, gassed to hell, latest marvellous inventions. F**king things ..... :evil:

cazabrew

Post by cazabrew » Mon Aug 04, 2014 8:03 pm

Do they last a while then, I wont be filling to top but would like the ale to last a reasonable time enought to drink and enjoy it. If I have a couple of pints and then secure the cap each time will be ale last for the week? Work gets in the way of drinking sometimes

Ditch