Woodfordes Wherry - new to brewing

Discuss making up beer kits - the simplest way to brew.
MiddxBrew

Woodfordes Wherry - new to brewing

Post by MiddxBrew » Sun Oct 01, 2017 9:59 pm

Hello everyone,

I am a complete novice to brewing.
I have just started my very first brew & would like to know if I have made an error. (Woodfordes Wherry kit).

I pitched my yeast 19 days ago. After 7 days the bubbling stopped, but having read other forums, I decided to leave it for over 14 days before bottling.
Despite the bubbles stopping, if you applied pressure to the lid, bubbles would start and the lid would not be as expanded.
The next day the lid would expand the same, but no bubbles in the airlock.
This expansion was still there on day 19 (but no bubbles unless pressure applied to the lid).
I've openend the FV and took a sampe.
What I did not do is read what the Hydrometer was saying (my error), instead I poured in my sugar, which had been added to boiling water (now cooled). This was gently stirred to avoid too much sediment movement.
I was going to start bottling very soon, but then took the Hydrometer reading.
The reading was 1.020. The kit recomends 1.014. My calculation worked out to be only 3% alcohol.
However, I had already added the sugar for bottling. My FV was now starting to bubble again.
I have returned my FV back to the cupboard now bubbling.
What should I do? Leave for another week?
If I do get the reduced Hydrometer reading should I add more sugar?

A little help please?

Thanks

Middxbrew

cwrw gwent
Lost in an Alcoholic Haze

Re: Woodfordes Wherry - new to brewing

Post by cwrw gwent » Mon Oct 02, 2017 9:48 pm

Hi Middxbrew and welcome to Jims.

There are a couple of things that may have happened here:

1 You may have a stuck fermentation. I've never experienced this but some people on this forum have often complained that certain kits reach a gravity of 1020 and stay there. Search "Stuck fermentation " on this forum.