Advice Please

A forum for cider makers
Mashman
Lost in an Alcoholic Haze

Advice Please

Post by Mashman » Sat Aug 31, 2019 7:45 am

Hi Guys

I have been brewing all grain for many years but have always fancied trying cider making. I now have a source of apples, mixed dessert and cookers. I have bought a scratter and am building a press using RSC's, threaded rod and a bottle jack.

Can anyone recommend the best cloth to use to make the cheeses ? I was thinking of net curtain material, is this OK or does someone have a better idea?

My beer is fermented under temperature control, this will not be available for the cider as beer production will continue and I hope to have at least 4 X 25lt bins of cider. The ambient temperature in the autumn will probably be lower than ideal beer fermenting temperature, maybe much lower. Any recommendations for a yeast ?

I thought I may leave one bin to ferment naturally using the wild yeast on the apples, this is surely the traditional way. Any thoughts on this?

Thanks, any thoughts, comments or suggestions welcome

Cheers

Mick
Two Valleys Brewery

Brewing up trouble

vacant
Even further under the Table

Re: Advice Please

Post by vacant » Sat Aug 31, 2019 8:55 am

Mashman wrote:
Sat Aug 31, 2019 7:45 am
I now have a source of apples, mixed dessert and cookers.
Noooooooooooooooooooooo! [-X

I'm surprised Jim hasn't immediately banned you for trying to re-ignite the "dessert vs cookers" cider war of 2011 :wink:

viewtopic.php?f=16&t=45754&p=480783
I brew therefore I ... I .... forget

Mashman

Post by Mashman » Sat Aug 31, 2019 10:39 am

Whoops, not seeking to re-ignite past conflicts. Just looking for advice.... :oops: :oops:
Two Valleys Brewery

Brewing up trouble

lord groan

Post by lord groan » Sun Sep 01, 2019 10:56 am