another sugar question

Try some of these great recipes out, or share your favourite brew with other forumees!
ColinKeb

another sugar question

Post by ColinKeb » Sun Apr 01, 2007 7:39 pm

im thinking of doing dave lines wadworths old timer and the recipe calls for 500gm invert sugar, im not that keen on faffing around adjusting PH levels if i make it myself so what do others recommend that i use instead ? plain white sugar?

maxashton

Post by maxashton » Sun Apr 01, 2007 7:49 pm

golden syrup! that's invert sugar

ColinKeb

Post by ColinKeb » Sun Apr 01, 2007 7:52 pm

hmm what about the stories of monster hangovers though :?

i could use glucose instead, i can get that from the shop down the road :D

maxashton

Post by maxashton » Sun Apr 01, 2007 8:07 pm

I'm not an AG expert, but i hear everyonen basically saying, "Trust Dave's Recipes."

ColinKeb

Post by ColinKeb » Sun Apr 01, 2007 8:09 pm

oh yes i do totaly, the man was always spot on as far as im concerned . i could make the invert sugar but then i'd have to add chalk and test the PH adn im not too confident about that. I mean where do you buy chalk from?

maxashton

Post by maxashton » Sun Apr 01, 2007 8:10 pm

i think you can get precipitated calcium from brew shops. Failing that, raid your local junior school?? (the juniors are easier to fight off.)

ColinKeb

Post by ColinKeb » Sun Apr 01, 2007 8:12 pm

i just found it at H&G :oops:

maxashton

Post by maxashton » Sun Apr 01, 2007 8:12 pm

Now there remains the question: Can We Be Arsed?

ColinKeb

Post by ColinKeb » Sun Apr 01, 2007 8:14 pm

ah what the hell ! I'll give it a go in the name of learning the craft . cant be that difficult and i spose i can make up a batch and keep it eh? i'll be treating the water next :lol:

eskimobob

Post by eskimobob » Sun Apr 01, 2007 8:16 pm