Tesco Element Help

The forum for discussing all kinds of brewing paraphernalia.
Froggit

Tesco Element Help

Post by Froggit » Thu Jul 05, 2012 10:59 am

Im having issues with my tesco elements.

Origionally my boiler was one element in a pan which was also on the gas hob, never had problems with the element all be it for only 5 brews.

On my 6th brew i switched to 2 elements and no gas, one of the elements stopped working half way through so i had to finish the boil on one alone but with no problems.

I went for brew 7 and checked the element that stopped working and it worked :shock: , of i go again. 15 minutes in and one element goes, no problem i think, will continue on 1, 45 minutes in and second element goes, im buggered not a lot i can do as plastic isnt too good on the hob.

I go to my boiler this morning and both elements are fine :shock: , im no electrician but im assuming these cheap elements dont have a cut off, i removed all the bits on them including the switch prior to use and like i say ive had 5 boils with one of them with no issues.

I know your all gonna say get a decent element and tbh i think thats the way to go but im curious as to why this is happening.

Any help thanks in advance.

Deller12

Re: Tesco Element Help

Post by Deller12 » Thu Jul 05, 2012 1:18 pm

Get some decent elements :lol:

Have your elements got a heavy deposits of burnt wort on them. I know the cheapo elements tend to over heat quite easy if they crud on them.

Froggit

Post by Froggit » Thu Jul 05, 2012 2:27 pm

No they do get clagged up during the boil but i clean them with acid after every batch!

barneey
Telling imaginary friend stories

Post by barneey » Thu Jul 05, 2012 2:50 pm

With a lot of talk about elements recently.... what is the hole diameter required for the tesco elements? Highlander on the other thread has already mentioned about the Asda ones being 44mm dia.
Hair of the dog, bacon, butty.
Hops, cider pips & hello.

Name the Movie + song :)

vanish