Newbie !

The forum for discussing all kinds of brewing paraphernalia.
Andy
Virtually comatose but still standing

Newbie !

Post by Andy » Fri Nov 18, 2005 8:56 pm

Firstly, hello all - I'm a newbie round here and have just signed up - great site/forum!

I've been brewing for a few years but only one brew per year and a 3kg malt extract kit at that! :ph34r:

But....that's all about to change! I'm looking to start a grain brew and have been busy researching equipment/methods etc etc....

While looking at the various wort coolers available for the post-boil cooling I was thinking
whether a heat exchanger from a domestic boiler would make a good wort cooler ?
I see that expensive brewing specific exchangers are available e.g. http://www.blichmannengineering.com/The ... inator.htm so how different
are they from a domestic boiler exchanger ?

Ebay has a few new exchangers - e.g. http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/Vaillant-Domestic ... dZViewItem

Are such beasts suitable for homebrew ? B)

Cheers! :beer

Reg
I do it all with smoke and mirrors

Post by Reg » Fri Nov 18, 2005 11:22 pm

Hey Andy!

Welcome to Jim's Homebrew, Nice to see you.

Jim's probably the best guy to go into the real detail on wort coolers, although there is some information on his main site which can be reached via the link in the top left marked Jim's Beer Kit.

See you around.

Reg
Beer drinker, moderator - (not that we've ever really needed one) - and general site idiot! :blink:

Andy

Post by Andy » Fri Nov 18, 2005 11:32 pm

Cheers Reg!

Yes, I've read Jim's main site and have seen his counterflow cooler. I wanted something
a little easier to put together and an off-the-shelf heat exchanger a la ebay seemed
like a potential solution.

The main issue I can think of would be clogging of the unit with residue from the boil
although some kind of mesh/filter before the wort gets to the unit could sort that.

Here's a description of how plate exchangers are constructed http://www.ezypart.co.uk/parts/part_id__2070